Tips

6 things you can do to be healthier 

1. DRINK WATER

We all drink water… I hope. Not everyone’s a fan of drinking water- I’m one of these people. Water is essential for our survival so the first step to taking care of yourself is drinking more of it. On top of all of the other drinks you have (coffee, tea, juice etc), the recommendation is 8 cups of water a day. Personally, there is no way my body can consume that much water. So my recommendation is to start by drinking 1 more cup a day than you usually would. Gradually increase the number of additional cups you drink whenever you feel comfortable. If you struggle to drink water like me, then buy a mason jar with a straw and fill it up with water. It may sound silly but I have found that I drink so much more water if it’s sitting there next to me. 

2. FRUIT VS SNACK

Again if you ask what the recommendation for the amount fruit you should eat is, you’ll get told, “5 a day!” However I don’t think that eating 5 a day will help if you’re still stuffing yourself with biscuits and sweets. So I’d try replacing 1 unhealthy thing you eat with a piece of fruit. That way you’re putting good in instead of bad. Again try increasing the amount of junk food you replace like you do with water. I’m no doctor by the way! 

3. EXERCISE 

I’m also guilty of not doing enough exercise, partly because I’m quite petite and thin. But that doesn’t mean I’m healthy. I’ve found that exercising at least 3 times a week is so refreshing and it makes me feel healthier. So try it even if it’s for 15 minutes every few days. Anything more than you do now will help. 

4. MORE SLEEP 

I love sleeping and so do many other people I have met in the world. Not everyone sleeps enough though. (I’m actually not guilty of this). You need at least 8 hours of sleep. Don’t oversleep, but sleep enough so that your body can actually function and so you don’t pass out halfway through the day. Go bed earlier is my biggest tip rather than sleeping in for longer. 

5. LESS TIME ON ELECTRONIC DEVICES

I feel a bit like a hypocrite as I’m typing this blog up because my next tip is to spend less time on your mobile phone, tablet, computer, laptop, tv or games console. Don’t turn into a zombie and give your eyes a break once in a while and see the outside world! 

6. GIVE UP BAD HABITS

This could be biting your fingernails, sucking your thumb, not showering regularly. I don’t know what bad habits you might have but try to give them up. If this is difficult then begin by gradually reducing the amount of time you spend doing this habit. Slow and small changes can have a big impact on your life over time. 
Although all these tips are useful, don’t go over the top and starve yourself or go on an extreme diet. That’s not the point of this blog. The message of this blog: make changes slowly and allow yourself to have a treat every once in a while, otherwise you’ll have no fun. 

Comment below any changes you want to make in your life. 

2 thoughts on “6 things you can do to be healthier ”

  1. Hey! Saw your comment in the Community Pool.

    I really like your blog layout. I especially like how you use the different pages to break down your categories. My only thought is that it looks like only 4 of your posts are on those specific category pages, maybe you could put more there or create more pages that would fit the rest of your posts.

    Just a thought! Really enjoy your blog, hope you’ll come check us out as well!

    -Clay

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

