Lifestyle

Life without work 

We learn to work. We live to work. Everything we seem to do is for work. My personal view is that not many people want to work of don’t enjoy their jobs. So why do we work? Why not just get rid of jobs?

It’s not as simple as that. Removing jobs from the equation will disrupt the balance of life. Say this did happen, see what the consequences would be…

I have so much free time now that I’m not working in the office. I think we should go on a family holiday. I can’t book any flight tickets because the website isn’t working. I can’t get a taxi to the airport because there are no drivers. I can’t fly because there are no pilots. I can’t I can’t I can’t.
We forget that jobs that may seem insignificant and small to us have a huge impact on our lives. Every person has a vital contribution to society. So when none of them have any roles, society won’t function.

When I was around 12 years old, I would wonder why jobs existed if people just kept complaining about them. However now I see the importance of jobs in our lives and how we need them to function.

So even though we learn to work and live to work, it doesn’t have to be this way. In school, teachers stress the importance of choosing a career that you love, and I totally agree. On average most people spend 9 hours a day at work. Message of the blog: make those 9 hours of your contribution count by putting your all into it. The only way to do this is if you enjoy it because unfortunately, we can’t get rid of jobs.

5 thoughts on “Life without work ”

  1. This mindset is exactly why everyone keeps complaining about their rubbish lives and continues doing jobs they hate: ‘But it’s necessary and we’d be in trouble if noone worked’ that’s so wrong! I agree with the hint you’ve put at the end of the post. What if everyone did what they love instead? We’d have quality shoes and clothes again, we’d have reliable service providers and competent customer support, maybe. Because everyone hates their job no job is done properly nowadays. We’ve been trained to do things we hate from the kindergarten on. Of course noone knows what it is they love doing so everyone proceeds being a waste living simply to survive, without any real purpose. Just the illusion of doing something useful doesn’t make anyone truly happy. But no, people still cling to the wishful thinking that their lives aren’t a waste while they’re wasting 80% of their time on something they hate.

    Like

  2. I would rather do a job I love than a job that makes a lot of money. True, after college, I want to eventually work in a nonprofit, but I love giving back to the community especially those living in poverty and homelessness. People need to understand the importance of doing a job they love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

